The seconds-in-command

Everyone knows who leads the two parties in Congress. But who does their dirty work? Who finds votes and creates the party message?

Over the next week I’ll profile the less-mentioned party leaders, the ones behind the scenes. Here’s a list of them:

House GOP:

Eric Cantor, Majority Leader

Kevin McCarthy, Majority Whip

Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Conference Chair

James Lankford, Policy Committee Chair

House Democrats:

Steny Hoyer, Minority Whip

Jim Clyburn, Assistant Democratic Leader

Xavier Becerra, Caucus Chair

Senate Democrats

Dick Durbin, Majority Whip

Chuck Schumer, Policy Committee Chair and Conference Committee Vice Chair

Patty Murray, Conference Secretary

Senate GOP

John Cornyn, Minority Whip

John Thune, Conference Chair

John Barrasso, Policy Committee Chair

Roy Blunt, Conference Vice Chair


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s